City Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The City Planning Commission generally meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Louis L. Redding City/County Building, 800 N. French Street.

2020 Meetings

Meeting Date
Agenda (PDF)
January 21 Agenda Minutes
February 18 Agenda
March 17 Agenda
April 21
May 19
June 16
July 21
August 18
September 15
October 20
November 17
December 15

2019 Meetings

Meeting Date
Agenda (PDF)
January 15 Meeting Cancelled  
February 19 Agenda Resolution 01-19 Public Notice Minutes
March 19 Agenda Resolution 04-19 Public Notice Minutes
April 16 Agenda
May 21 Agenda   Minutes
June 18 Agenda Resolution 8-19 Public Notice  Minutes
July 16 Agenda


August 20 Agenda

September 17 Agenda   Minutes
October 8 Special Meeting Agenda Resolution 14-19 Public Notice Minutes
October 15 Meeting Cancelled    
November 19 Meeting Cancelled
December 17 Agenda  

To receive the City Planning Commission’s meeting agendas and public notices via email, please contact Jessica Molina, Planner I, at or (302) 576-3111.

City Planning Commission Responsibilities

The Commission makes recommendations on the following types of actions:

Review Process

City Planning Commission review is generally initiated by the introduction of legislation in City Council, a referral from the City Clerk, permit application to the Department of Licenses and Inspections, or subdivision plan submittal by an applicant.

An analysis report prepared by the Department of Planning and Development is presented to the City Planning Commission. The Planning Commission makes its recommendations in the form of a resolution. Depending on the type of action, the resolution may be forwarded to City Council or the Zoning Board of Adjustment for further action.

Public Hearings

The following Commission actions require a formal Public Hearing, which is held at the beginning of the Commission’s regular meeting:

  • Rezonings
  • Amendments to the Zoning Code
  • Annexations
  • City Historic District or Neighborhood Conservation District designations

Wilmington City Planning Commission Rules of Public Participation

City Planning Commission Members

The seven-member City Planning Commission is comprised of five Mayoral appointees, the City of Wilmington Director of Finance, and the Mayor's Office Chief of Staff.

The current members are:

  • Desmond Baker, Vice-Chair
  • Tanya Washington, Chief of Staff, Office of Mayor Michael S. Purzycki
  • J. Brett Taylor, Director of Finance
  • Lloyd Budd
  • Joseph Chickadel
  • Anthony J. Hill

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer