Wilmington’s Instant Ticketing Program allows City Code Enforcement Inspectors to be more proactive in seeking out and citing various sanitation problems that disturb the quality of life in our neighborhoods. Under the program, inspectors are able to issue instant $50 fines, similar to a parking ticket, upon those property owners who violate the City’s sanitation codes (i.e. litter, accumulation of fecal matter, high grass/weeds, improper trash disposal, illegal dumping).
Property owners who receive a citation for violating the City’s sanitation code have 30 calendar days of the date of the citation to pay their $50 fine.
- Information about Instant Ticketing
- Descargue o baje información sobre el Programa Instante de Etiqueta
Instant Ticketing has not only improved the appearance of our neighborhoods and has created an immediate way to deal with sanitation issues, but has also helped us positively change the attitudes and behavior of the residents and visitors of our City.”
The Instant Ticketing Program is considered a model program throughout the U.S. It has been awarded the U.S. Conference of Mayors (USCM) 2008 City Livability Award. The Department of Licenses & Inspections has presented the program to municipalities throughout Delaware and before the USCM Vacant & Abandoned Properties Task Force.
Appeal an Instant Ticket
The owner of a property aggrieved by any civil penalty imposed, pursuant to Chapters 3, 13, 24, 36, and 45 of the Wilmington City Code, may appeal to the Commissioner of the Department of Licenses and Inspections by sending a detailed written explanation of the grounds for the appeal. The written appeal must be mailed within 21 calendar days of the date of the citation along with a $15.00 administrative fee to:
Department of Licenses and Inspections
P.O. Box 2022
Wilmington, Delaware 19899
The written petition must set forth the following:
- The principal points upon which the appeal is made.
- Specific reference to the provisions if the applicable code section(s) upon which the appeal is based.
The Commissioner of the Department of Licenses and Inspections shall forward the payment of the civil penalty to the Department of Finance, which will credit such payment. Each citation received must be appealed separately. The Commissioner of the Department of Licenses and Inspections or a designee shall issue a written decision affirming, modifying, reversing, revoking or vacating the civil penalty within 45 calendar days of receipt of the written explanation of the grounds for appeal. Such decision shall be final.